Sunshine Coasting

SunshineCoast (20)

SunshineCoast (21)

SunshineCoast (1)

SunshineCoast (2)

SunshineCoast (3)

SunshineCoast (4)

SunshineCoast (5)

SunshineCoast (7)
SunshineCoast (8)

SunshineCoast (9)
SunshineCoast (10)

SunshineCoast (6)

SunshineCoast (11)

SunshineCoast (13)

SunshineCoast (12)
SunshineCoast (14)

SunshineCoast (15)

SunshineCoast (16)

SunshineCoast (18)

SunshineCoast (17)

As I sit here writing this, my legs (and back, and neck, and…) are still burning from the bike adventuring that myself and friend Stephanie embarked on this past weekend. Vancouver to Nanaimo, Nanaimo up to Powell River, and then down the Sunshine Coast back home to the city. Beautiful. Early Spring touring means campgrounds that are all but empty (so quiet), chilly mornings (nothing that can’t be fixed by your local café), and wet riding gear (we managed to avoid any major downpours). Even with long days in the saddle – my Google mapping came up short, by around 20km every day…sorry Steph! – the taste of sunshine that we got was worth it. I always forget how difficult it is to take photographs when you are absolutely wiped from moving and being cold, so what you see above is my stab at storytelling during our trip. My respect for some of my favourite photogs at the moment (Garret Grove, Jordan Manley, and Robin O’Neill to name a few) always increases after I go off on an adventure and try to take pictures that are meaningful in some way – it’s HARD (when all you really want to do is eat or sleep). We had the opportunity to see some beautiful landscapes and wildlife, met some great locals, and enjoyed more than one good latté along the way. I have a feeling my smile will last longer than my muscle pains…

– MP

 

4 thoughts on “Sunshine Coasting

  1. I don’t know how you do it (my legs are burning just thinking about your cycling 🙂 ), but I admire your gusto. So enjoy seeing all the familiar scenes of BC forests, sea, and ferries of my memories. You do have an eye; thanks for the trip! (never had a latte while I lived there. Maybe I’ll have to come for a visit…..?)

    1. I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos Aunt Mary! I would love love love a visit one of these days, I’d be more than happy to sip a latté on the Sunshine Coast with you! xo

Leave a Reply

